LCH Chapter 1 – Reality

Reality (Revised)

MTL- LtBeefy

“Do you know the reason that I have called for you?”

“……You know,”

The Royal Academy, 1st year 3rd class. It’s where I am currently.

“Nh yeah, I don’t think I’m the guy you thought that I was.”

“……Yeah.”

The entrance exam was easy.

It was only the content from elementary school and a fitness test after all. I was born on a farmer which gave me the minimum necessary strength needed, and my elementary school grade were also good.

However, the problem is the results after admission.

“What is this performance!?”

BAM!

The homeroom teacher used his whole body and sent out a straight right. With a good sound I was blown a few meters away. A little blood seeped out from my mouth. It’s painful, teacher.

“This is the first time I’ve seen a student with such bad grade!”

“I’m sorry.”

I apparently am stupider than I thought I was. Apparently grade from elementary school are deceptive. Commonplace thing needless to say.

Just barely passed the first half-year of the midterm. My midterm report card roughly looks like this.

Swordsmanship – 28 points
Archery – 5 points
Magic – 53 points
Horsemanship – 14 points
Math – 85 points
Tactics – 96 points
Strategy – 93 points
History – 89 points

HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA Yes, great numbers if I say so. In particular I get tears just from looking at my archery scores.

Of course the whole thing is out of 100 points. Failing is considered anything less than 60 points. Lectures I’m taking the lead in. About 40 of the points of the 53 points in magic all come from magic theory. The remaining 13 points come from magic practice.

What can I say, there was no magic in my previous world?

This was not the only problem because there was also swordsmanship, archery, and horsemanship. Well, it can’t be helped because I never practiced swordsmanship, archery, or horsemanship in my previous life. That’s how it is.

“You know, in this current state you’ll drop out in the first half of the school.

“……Yes, I know.”

That’s right.

The Royal Military Academy is a tuition-free school. This school is only tuition-free because it is funded by the country.

However, after graduation from the Academy one must server for 10 years in the military. If not they will charge a tuition fee.

And it’s the same even if you get expelled from the school. ……haa. It’s depressing.

“Do something more or less before the year end.”
“Yes”
“You’re too quiet.”
“YES!”
“Hmm. Sit down.”

I’d feel sorry for my parents if they heard I’ve been expelled. Farmers are not wealthy, and the tuition fee would create quite a burden. I shouldn’t be selfish and just hang here. Even with my previous memories, my parents are my parents.

The problem is archery score and if it can increase by 55 points. How do they pass, maybe bribery.

“I know, Joseph is pretty poor.”
“Shut up.”

The girl sitting next to me spoke. I’m already dead.

“What, is Sarah not also stupid. What did you get in tactics?”
“……18 points.”
“And in strategy?”
“25 points”

And Military history is…, I was about to say as fist came flying in.

“I’ll hit you if you don’t shut up!” “Hit me, don’t say that after you’ve done it!”

Doing such things, it’s no surprise the teacher yelled these words.

“You two people! Outside stand in the hallway!!!”

◇          ◇

Well, Sarah Malinovska with bucket in hand stood next to me. Red long hair, fish like eyes, violent women who pulls out a sword before speaking things through. Her favorite subject in class is swordsmanship, archery, and horsemanship.

Long story short, she’s a muscle brain.

“These two should be expelled within the first half should get along.” “That’s right!”

Who’s the one that needs someone in swordsmanship, horsemanship, and archery teaching? Glance. Ah.

“……Sh*t!”
“……”

Oh crap. Our eyes met.

“Hey,”
“I wonder,”

Oops, that’s embarrassing. I’ll just do the “go first” gesture.

“You help me study. I can teach you the practical things.”

I couldn’t talk. I was also going to say the same thing as you.

 

◇ ◆ ◇ ◆ ◇ ◆ ◇

Sarah Malinovska It’s my name.

70% of the students of the Academy are noble. There are sons of Duke’s and Ministers. It’s not an usual thing.

That includes me. Even though the position is not as great. The daughter of the noble class Cavallero Knights are located at the bottom of nobility.

As a Cavallero Knight, I have had combat training from an early age. Knights defend the future of this country. I thought this, thus I trained hard every day.

I learned from my father swordsmanship, archery, and horsemanship. Unfortunately magic is a specialty beyond father. I only had the magic learning from the elementary school level.

Then suddenly one day, my father told me “go to the Academy.”

Because we are poor nobles, and have trouble getting food every day, try to live a comfortable life with a military career. Would there be such a calculative reasons. But I, knowing it, followed my father’s saying. That is, it’s our role as nobles from the Cavallero Knight class.

The Entrance exam was fine. With the martial arts from father I scored high. Intermediate magic wasn’t something I could use, but that could be learned in the Academy.

In hindsight, I might have been evaluated as an “expert”. I say it myself, certainly can say that I knew more martial arts than the other students around. Thus, I was enrolled into the Academy.

Seating, I think was settled on placement for admission in class, I think I had satisfactory results.

However, it is also certain that I had anxiety when I entered. It may be true. After all I’m still only 12 years old when I was told the saying “As a knight you have to protect the country”.

The anxiety was quelled by the boy sitting next to me in the classroom. His was Joseph Walesa.

He is rather rare at the Academy, a farmer’s child becoming a Cadet in the Academy. He’s the exact opposite me with martial arts, on the other hand he is extremely good in classroom lectures.

As early as the third class he became known as “Below the head unnecessary man (1)”.

After the first half midterm exam results were published, Joseph and I cooperated with each other to raise our test scored in order to avoid being expelled. He taught me about the classroom lectures, while I taught him martial arts.

Horsemanship training field these days is like horsemanship detention class.

“Remind me what your score in horsemanship was Sarah?”
“99 points.”
“….What happened to the last point?”
“Well? It’s quite appropriate (2)

“Hmm, well certainly Sarah’s opponents would be annoyed if she got 100 points.”
“What do you mean…”

That bossy person with only 14 points in horsemanship said. After that Joseph, awkwardly complained with dissatisfaction.

“Why do I need to know how to ride a horse…”
“I’ve never heard of an office who could not ride a horse.”

I’d thought that since Joseph came from a farm, that he’d at least have a horse around.

“Struggling now, then what about the second half of the year when its more difficult. Do you have sword or spear fighting skills.”

“……For real?”

“I hate liars.”

Joseph is on top of the horse while I’m holding the reins. This is the same as a 5 year old riding a horse for the first time.

…Why is this guy going to the Academy. No matter how easy the testing was, it won’t be as easy from now.

I don’t know what life is, or what will happen.

Realised that because of a man named Joseph Walesa. Joseph and I met for the first time about 3 months ago, on the Military Academy entrance day ceremony.

Of all the bastards, I was helped by the misbegotten Cadet Joseph.

 

 

  1. She is essentially saying he is known for being useless in everything that doesn’t take a brain. His only worth is his head and the rest of him is not needed.
  2. Sorry, couldn’t figure this one out at all. Any suggestions be appreciated さぁ? 実技の加点方法って結構適当だし、100点にするのが嫌だったんでしょ」

Leave a comment