LCH Prologue

What you want to do, you should achieve (revised)

MTL – LtBeefy

TLN – This is the 2nd chapter btw. Meaning that the chapter marked Introduction comes before this one.

“Europe”

It is the name of the westernmost region in my former world, the Eurasian continent.

It’s the area which became the center of history in my former world.

In that region, many different countries where born, flourished, and destroyed where a new country would be born.

The “map” my father just passed to me was exactly a map of Europe.

My memory- though the fine details are vague since it has been more than 10 years since I law saw one. When comparing it with the one in my memories, it is undoubtedly Europe.

This coincidence is hard to believe.

Is this Europe? Did I just reincarnate as a European? No, I deny that line of thought.

First of all this world is not a modern one. No electricity, gas, or water supply infrastructure was apparent from my clothing and housing. It looked closer to the Edo period.

And there are some elements that exist in this world that where not in my former world.

“Joseph! Hey can you help me!?” “Oh, yes.”

My mother called to me. I would usually help her by washing the laundry.
Oh, I have yet to introduce myself.

My name is Joseph. Joseph Walesa.

As you can see, I am a boy. Since I’m only 10 years old I dare to say that I look rather cute. But what if in a few years… no, let’s stop that line of thinking. It makes me sad.

As for my family, it’s just my father, my mother, and me.

“Just a minute! Water appear.”

When my mother spoke those words actual water appeared in thin air. It was actual water forming in the air, it’s not a metaphor, but actual water appearing.

Yeah, magic even though I always see it, I still don’t understand the theory of it.

Well, “I need to avoid getting trapped with the common sense of my old life in this new world!”

After all, there this is something call witchcraft or magic.

Essentially this world a familiar medieval European fantasy world.

My mother summoning up water for washing was a beginning level magician spell and among the simplest to use. In this world anyone can use beginner level chantless magic.

Even I was able to do this. Trust me, I think even you guys would be able to do this. Also, there seems to be healing magic from what I’ve heard. Thought, I don’t know to what extent it can cure an injury or an illness, but there may be a higher population of people compared to my previous life because of it.

“Well then I have to go scrub the clothes. Then afterward wring them out and hang them to dry.”

No matter how convenient magic is, laundry is still done as in tradition, with soap and a washing board.

Ahh my back is killing me. Has the drying machine and automatic washing machine been invented yet?!

I attended the elementary school in the village, while helping out at the farm with work, I’m but an ordinary child that is helping their mother with the household chores and cooking.

Well, except that there are the memories of my previous life.

“Joseph, how was school?”

“The usual.”

In particular there is nothing else. Though in this world I have no friends. Therefore I don’t talk too much.

I would have made up an imaginary friend in my previous life, but this is a small farming community. Ah, the tears you see are from the soap.

“Hmmm!?”

“Wh-What…”

“Perhaps, it’s another child?”

Why do you say that?

“That’s not it unfortunately.”

Please ask if I have friends before saying that. In this case, even an older male is more than good. On the other hand, my mother, not knowing my sad situation continued onwards.

“Nh, it’s wasteful. It pains me because you got such a good looking face from your father. It’s a waste if you don’t put its effect to good use.”

My mother said all this with a lively attitude. No matter the age of the women, love to them makes them happy. Though I say any women, my mother is only 28 years old. While my father is only 35.

“Still it’s Nice. Though it’s annoying.

“…Hey, Joseph. Is your personality changing from before and after your birthday!?”

“That’s not true.”

What gave me away? What’s more, it’s scary as she said not “character”, but “personality”.

“You use to be such a lively child back in the day. It must be because of your father’s strange gift.”

My mother is half right on that. Without that maybe I wouldn’t have remembered my previous life otherwise. Probably.

“Joseph, what are you going to do now?”

“Do…?”

“You’ll be graduating from Elementary school this year. What are you going to do after?”

Elementary school, it’s the first school that children in this country attend. You can choose not to attend, but the school fee is nothing.

It teaches language, math and science, about society, and beginner level magic among other things needed to live. Admission is at the age of 5, and graduation is at the age of 10.

Enrollment is earlier than in my previous life because there is no kindergarten or nursery school.

And just last month I turned 10 years old. And the elementary school has a graduation coming up. If it was before I regained my memory of my previous life, I would have taken over the farm after my father died.

“Well, I’m kinda worried.”

“Oh, that’s so?”

“Yes”

If in my previous life I was also a farmer it be “Agricultural knowledge of previous life”, it be a webnovel or something about farmers. Unfortunately in my previous life I was just a student.

So sorry father for being bad, but I will not inherit the farm. Farming in the countryside with memories from a previous life, it would be a waste of 50 years.

“I won’t say you have to inherit the farm. Just do what you want to do, Joseph. Regardless, I’m going to be cheering for you. Of course doing bad things is no good.”

……What I want to do. Well, there is one thing. The map from my father, the country’s history from elementary school, and the memories of my previous life.

I want …(1) but I got three

The name of the country where I live is the “Silesia Kingdom”.

Its right in the middle, in my previous life the region was called “Central Europe”. Specifically, in that place was a country called Poland, my second home.

Currently Silesia Kingdom was in danger of being destroyed.

 

◇          ◇

“Silesia Kingdom”

Continental calendar year 452, it separated from the world’s largest nation, “The Eastern Empire”.

After its separation it encountered repeated disputes with neighboring countries due to it expanding its territories. During its golden age, it achieved a hegemony that was second only to the Eastern Empire.

However, its golden age was a short lived affair.

Neighboring powers in fear of the Silesia Kingdom signed an anti-Silesian alliance, followed by a declaration of war. Silesia Kingdom struggled due to being greatly outnumbered. This defeat was crushing, losing two-thirds of its territory.

Gradually the Silesia Kingdom golden age faded.

The Silesian people wanting revenge and to free its lost territory from the conquerors rose again to wage war, but in the end they were still crushingly defeated.

Furthermore, they lost another half of their territory.

Silesian Kingdom could not stop the decline, and in addition the repeated military intimidation and invasion from neighboring countries, were cutting and crunching the territory and economic strength of the Kingdom.

Now only one-seventh of the Kingdom of Silesia was left from its golden age, from the day of its independence it was only two-thirds the size.

This is a rough history of the Silesia Kingdom.

As for the history of the entire continent, let’s leave that for later.

As mentioned above, the Silesian Kingdom lies in the place from my former life known as Poland. And like Poland, the circumstances of the Silesia kingdom are similar.

Even though I am not a history buff.

I only knew this because I happened to be a little bit into historical simulation games.

I had left this country to destruction. It was only seen as bait. In my previous life Poland was also once a huge nation. And Poland was surrounded by the strongest medieval countries, known as Russia, Prussia, and Austria, it was destroyed and divided between the three.

After the fall, the Polish who sought freedom and independence rose up again and again failing many times.

After each time it received violent suppression.

Won’t Silesian Kingdom perish if it’s the same as Poland in my previous life?

No, it’s already on the verge of destruction. It’s learning from the elementary school.

Hmm

Doomed, I know, but it’s annoying to see it pointed out in elementary school. And I have the game and manga whatnot of knowledge of my previous life. I think somehow Silesia might be saved if I could use it!

“Mother, father”

“What’s wrong Joseph?”

“Are you sick?”

Going for the gold! With memories of a past life I’ll become a cheat!

“I want to become a general.”

Contiental Calendar year 631 on September 1st. I was accepted to the Royal Academy of Silesia.

 

 

 

  1. Left this blank because I couldn’t figure it out at all. Any help would be appreciated.
    この3つを持ってる俺しか成せないことをしたい。

 

 

 

Leave a comment